Posted by: lilac2008 | April 2, 2008

The last post…?

Me at the grand reception

The photos from the conference are still trickling in as you can see above. As more arrive I will post them… it looks like there will be no clear end to this project, but maybe that’s for the best!

Sheila Webber has been steadily reporting on the various sessions at her InfoLit blog, here, here , here and here. In fact, in the third post there, she lists a fair few of the contributors to the conference who have blogged about it too! So I shan’t reinvent the wheel by “metablogging” them all (phew!). I just hope to surf the wave of links and re-links that will come flooding in!

Actually, having said that, I will mention Angela Newton’s post:

My Lilac revelation is one that is relevant to all libraries and librarians, and it is this; Libraries are about learning.

Thanks, Angela! That was kind of what I took away from the whole thing too. I am a sort of frustrated teacher, I suppose, and I agree with her (implicit) statement that library education should be part of the education faculty (“if I had my time again, I wouldn’t bother getting a Masters in Library and Information Management, but rather take a postgraduate degree in Education”).

Anja Timm’s research on plagiarism  (oops, sorry, I mean academic writing!) did strike me and some of the other delegates I chatted to afterwards as a funny place to begin the conference, but in hindsight it makes sense because it gives that almost hypothetic question “what would an international student coming into UK higher education see?” a real answer: here’s what they see! Check her website out when you can, there should hopefull be some videos going up of her documentary journey to China, Greece and India. Fascinating stuff.

I think I was right to be amazed when posted after the session; it’s about what is a “normal” educational experience. Indeed, I was amazed again when I ended up sitting next to a uni student from Mumbai on the train home, who recounted the experience of a friend of hers, up before a unversity tribunal for (apparently unwitting!) plagiarism.

Wow, this does happen! It really could be a good moment to revisit the foundations of Anglo-American-Globalised higher education.

Leave a Reply

Categories

